"Writing About Absolutely Nothing Since Two Minutes Ago"

July 30, 2006

* Brush dirt off. Get back up.*

So it’s been a while since my last posting—many many things have happened. First of all, my little cold/virus/whatever turned out to be pneumonia…can you believe it? Lil’ ol' me, sick with something I can barely spell! I am simultaneously: 1) thankful that it’s something that can be treated and not just a viral thing that will linger on and on; 2) relieved that it’s something real and I wasn’t just being whiny and sluggish over a tiny bug; 3) feeling faintly melodramatic (pneumonia! How Victorian! What’s next, the vapors?); 4) bored, bored, bored. I’m restless but just don’t have the energy to do much.

On the plus side, lounging about for days on the sofa with bon-bons has made me realize a few things (yay, more numbered points!):

1) I am starting to be mad about work all the time. Want evidence? See below. I don’t want to be that way. I don’t do mad well. And not only is it not good for me physically or emotionally, it’s just not worth it. It’s just work! So I’ve chilled—I don’t think I’m mad anymore. And I’m thinking that after this, I might not blog about work for a while anymore. It’s just not as interesting as other things.
2) I figured out what my boss was up to—and that has helped me not be mad. I watched a soccer thing over the weekend, and realized the coach was yelling at the players in a way that sounded exactly like my boss…. “Is that all you got? My grandma can kick better than that! Try harder! Grrrah!” So, now I understand all the scolding, and what he is trying to do. And I think I understand his motivation…he probably has to get us to generate some serious revenue or he, and we, will be in trouble. Hence the “vision” with the missing details. He’s probably feeling a little desperate.

3) I love my TiVo. Anything that serves up a double scoop of Escape from New York AND Escape from Los Angeles right when I need it is a good, good thing.

And as another plus, I did finally make it out of the house yesterday to IKEA with the girls—thanks so much D&B! I had a great time. And I bought these sweet wineglasses. The pic doesn’t really do it justice; the polka-dots are teensier in real life. They will be just the thing to stare at after I’ve had a couple too many. I love them very very much. And even better, it means that my guests and I no longer have to drink wine out of my coffee mugs. Like a real grown-up! How bourgeois am I?

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home